I’m wearing a bracelet today that I have not worn for almost 50 years. It commemorates the capture in Vietnam of Captain Jose David Luna of the U.S. Air Force on March 10, 1967. He was a P.O.W. until 1973, when he was finally released and returned to the United States. You can read about our connection in my first post about him here:

https://grandmaspicturebox.wordpress.com/

and in my second post about him, here:

https://wordpress.com/read/blogs/36809025/posts/403

Lt. Col. Luna died on Tuesday, January 23, 2024 after a short battle with cancer. It was his wish not to have a memorial service, but I simply cannot let his passing go by without notice. We never met in person, but through the gracious efforts of Patty Kendrick White and her husband at Prime Street Grille in Maryland, he and I connected and I was able to tell David and his wife, Judy, about all of the people who reached out to me after reading about him. He was so appreciative of every comment, every good wish, every note of gratitude for his service. I returned my original bracelet to him, and he responded by sending me one that had been issued to him in commemoration of his service – he and Judy didn’t want me to be without one, since I had written about it.

David Luna sacrificed a tremendous part of himself for our country. After his retirement, he lived a quiet life in Maryland with Judy, who survives him. That’s the way he wanted it – a quiet life. Nonetheless, it was a significant life and one that, incredibly, touched mine. To his surviving family, especially Judy, and the friends who mourn him, I want to extend my sympathy for your loss. To those who served with him, I extend my gratitude. And to those of us who never met him, I grieve the lost opportunity. Rest in peace, Lt. Col. Luna. Thank you for your service.